EOC: Long Final

The European Long Final took place in Klinteskoven, South Zealand. The area chosen proved to be tough and rough forest for the runners however the top guys all came in ahead of the projected winning time.
The winner of the men was Kalle Dalin of Sweden making his international debut in Denmark. Kalle speaking at the press conference was very pleased by his performance citing his big winter training regime which helped him with the speed in the forest. Looking over Kalle's route choice it showed that the faster but longer path routes took precedence over thrashing through the undergrowth and brashings.

Second place went to Mats Haldin of Finland who ran a contolled race catching Jamie Stevenson after Jamie made a mistake at the 11th control.
Emil Wingstedt of Sweden was third.
Jamie had a good run depite mistakes letting Mats catch him. Jamie was pleased with his week with two top ten places. Dan Marston came in a good 21st place. Dan was pleased with his result that gained him useful world cup points

In the B final Stephen Palmer showed that he can still pull out the results coming a credible second place.
The two Nicks, Morgan and Barrable were
9th and 10th respectively

In the womens race normal service was resumed with Simone Niggli - Luder taking the title by an impressive 3 and a half minutes from Emma Engstrand of Sweden. Simone looked cool calm and collected through the spectator control taking this approach through the forest to post a fast time.
Third place was Tatiana Ryabkina who is fast becoming a name to watch in future international orienteering races.

Heather Monro who would have started last and been a hot favourite and excellent performer of the week Claire Ward did not start due to the illness that has plagued the British team this week. Instead British interest lay with Helen Winskill who came in 27th.

In the womens B final Jo Stevenson came in 4th only one minute down on the winner.

Womens A Final

1.Simone Niggli-Luder SUI 1:02:04
2.Emma Engstrand SWE 1:05:45
3.Tatiana Ryabkina RUS 1:05:53
27. Helen Winskill GBR 1.17.46

Womens B Final

1.Anna Folkegard ESP 1.00:35
4.Jo Stevenson GBR 1.01.56

Men's A Final
1.Kalle Dalin SWE 1:23:40
2.Mats Haldin FIN 1:23:58
3.Emil Wingstedt SWE 1:24:41
8. Jamie Stevenson GBR 1.26.11
21. Dan Marston GBR 1.29.49

Men's B Final
1. Matthias Muller SUI 1.12.25
2. Stephen Palmer GBR 1.13.35
8. Nick Morgan GBR 1.16.33
9. Nick Barrable GBR 1.18.07

Nopesport is supported by these advertisements