0007 Day 2


Triple O Seven Classic Race

Once again a big race descended on Lydney Park in the Forest of Dean after the JK Day 1 in 2002. Combined with the Triple O Seven short race the classic provided the backdrop for selection races for the European Champs in Denmark and the final of the future champions cup the selection races for the Junior World Champs.

Therefore all eyes were on the elite classes for the weekend. In the Mens 21 Elite everyone was excited by the return of Stephen Palmer onto the domestic classic scene after his win the previous day. Stephen started last chasing Matt Crane down a product of the same Walton Chasers Club as Stephen. However the day belonged to Nick Barrable of FVO. Nicks wining time of 86.36 was only 23 seconds ahead of Allan Bogle of NWOC over the 14.4km with 630 climb. Stephen Palmer came back in third closely followed by Nick Morgan OD and Nope Young Team member Dickie Wren EPOC.

In the Ladies Sarah Rollins BAOC won the 9.5km course by just under 3 minutes from a trio from South Yorkshire Jenny Whitehead recorded her best finish this season and beat Kim Buckley and Helen Winskill of South Yorkshires womens first team. Claire Ward INT came fifth. Helen still retains her leadership of the UK Cup Standings.

In the junior classes a sea of nervous faces paced the assembly field. After Day 1 selection was still in the reach for the chosen few however a 10.9km 415m climb classic tried to separate the boys and 7.8km 310 m climb aimed to test the girls. In the M20E Graham Gristwood once again brought in his big game mentality beating the whole field by three and a half minutes from speedy Scott Fraser, winner of the M18E, third place was taken by Mark Nixon 9 seconds off Scott. The other three important places were taken by Chris Sellens, Dan Halliday and David Hodkinson. In the girls once again the form of Mhairi McKenzie (Nope Young Team) blew away the field. After coming so close to winning 100 in the short race Mhairi won the 7.8km 310m climb race by six minutes from Lizzie Adams of SOC (winner of W18E). Third place was taken by Alison ONeil with the other three of the top six included Fiona Berrow, Helen Gardner and Lucy Jepson.

This was also a National Event so included a wide number of competitive classes in the Veteran and Junior classes. Good wins from Steve Nicholson (M35L) Clive Hallet (M40L) Martin Dean (M45L) Jon Rye (M50L) Lesley Ross (W35L) Wendy Billing (W40L) Diane Leakey (W45L) Jon Rocke (M16A) Catherine Taylor (W16A) Peter Hodkinson (M14A) Bryony Crickmore (W14A)

0007 Day 2 Results


Nopesport is supported by these advertisements