eoc :: norway&swiss selections


With just a few weeks to go until the European Championships in Estonia the Swiss and Norwegian teams have been announced for the event.

Following selection races in Southern Sweden last weekend the Norwegians have announced a 16 strong team to take part in the EOC from the 6-14th of May. The already pre-selected Øystein Kvaal Østerbø and Marianne Andersen both comfortably won the sprint races by 20 seconds while Andersen also took comfortable victories in both the Middle & Classic distance selection races. Holger Hott Johansen and Øystein Kristiansen winning the Middle & Classic races respectively for the men. The team selected is as follows:
Anne Margrethe Hausken,
Marianne Andersen,
Birte Riddervold,
Marianne Riddervold,
Line Hagman,
Ingunn Fristad,
Mari Fasting,
Ingunn Weltzien,

reserve: Tone Wigemyr,

Øystein Kvaal Østerbø,
Øystein Kristiansen,
Holger Hott Johansen,
Anders Nordberg,
Audun Weltzien,
Lars Skjeset,
Carl Waaler Kaas,
Tore Sandvik,

reserve: Marius Bjugan
reserve: Ivar Haugen

Meanwhile the Swiss have announced their team as being the following
Sara Gemperle,
Brigitte Grüniger,
Vroni König-Salmi,
Lea Müller,
Simone Niggli-Luder,
Seline Stalder,
reserve: Angela Wild

Fabian Hertner,
Daniel Hubmann,
Matthias Merz,
Matthias Müller,
Baptiste Rollier,
David Schneider,
reserve: Benno Schuler

The British team is due to be announced today based on results at the British Elite Long Championships and the Squad time trial, along with form from the JK and Spring Cup. Following the withdrawl from the team of David Brickhill-Jones due to his injury at the JK along with Helen Winskill, there are plenty of places left to join the pre-selected Matt Crane, Jamie Stevenson and Sarah Rollins in Estonia.


Øystein Kvaal Østerbø's sprint route

Nopesport is supported by these advertisements