spring cup :: individual


The first of the big Scandinavian weekend’s has shown signs of encouragement for some of Britain’s top runners. The Spring Cup always has a strong field, and this year was no exception, particularly with the World Championships being held there later this year. The weekend kicks off with a middle distance night race on Friday night, where the top British performance was had by Mark Saunders of Bristol OK, who finished 2nd on H45A. South Yorkshire’s Tim Tett finished 5th on the same course. There were other top 10 finishes from Mike Sprot and Richard Robinson on H21A (which was won by former Norwegian international Petter Thoresen), Dan Tett on H17-20A, and Alice Bedwell on D45A. The top finishers in the elite classes were Helen Gardner in D17-20E (21st), Rhys Findlay-Robinson in H17-20E (23rd), and Graham Gristwood in H21E (20th).

Saturday sees the individual race taking place, and with 1-minute start intervals there is always a case of bunching, especially with the very visible Danish forests. Mark Saunders produced another fine display to finish 2nd again on H45A, as did Mike Sprot who came 3rd on H21A. The Brits also had cause for celebration in the elite races as well, as three fine performances were had by Jamie Stevenson (3rd on H21E), Scott Fraser (2nd on H19-20E) and Rhodri Buffett (5th on H17-18E).

All known British results:
71. Rachel Smirthwaite
21. Lizzie Adams
25. Helen Gardner
26. Rosemary Hodkinson
30. Jessica Halliday
38. Tessa Hill
65. Kirsten Strain
71. Carol White
31. Pippa Whitehouse
43. Jenny Whitehead
50. Heather Monro
58. Claire Ward
62. Helen Bridle
72. Karen Heppenstall
90. Helen Palmer
93. Rachael Elder
102. Becky Carlyle
111. Helen Winskill
5. Alice Bedwell
35. Alison Saunders
13. Susan Marsden

20. Robin Tett
5. Rhodri Buffett
22. John Rocke
35. Douglas Tullie
46. David Schorah
94. Matt Lyle
2. Scott Fraser
12. Oleg Chepelin
18. Duncan Coombs
30. James Bennett
48. Joe Mercer
49. James Tullie
53. Daniel Tett
55. Andy Llewellyn
65. Rhys Findlay-Robinson
70. Matthew Franklin
18. Alex Bedwell
19. Gareth Little
3. Jamie Stevenson
35. Oli Johnson
36. Matt Crane
45. Graham Gristwood
76. Rob Baker
=85. Ewan McCarthy
=85. Jonathan Duncan
94. Daniel Marston
97. David Brickhill-Jones
106. Matt Speake
148. Nick Barrable
160. Ed Nash
10. Murray Strain
15. Duncan Archer
25. Neil Northrop
98. Anthony Squire
154. Ed Nicholas
3. Mike Sprot
20. Richard Robinson
56. Donald McCarthy
18. Ian Marsden
21. Jon Marsden
14. Chris Poole
2. Mark Saunders
11. Tim Tett
50. David Saunders
14. Keith Marsden

For full results, and tomorrow’s relay, visit the Spring Cup website

Nopesport is supported by these advertisements