pwt :: jinhau


The PWT today saw Thursday's victors repeat their results with both Øystein Kvaal Østerbø & Tatiana Riabkina claiming their second wins of the week.

Leaving herself with the slightest possibility of claiming the overall PWT title with 2 races remaining, Riabkina ran to a solid rather than spectacular win, the only time she held the fastest time on the course was when it mattered - when crossing the finishline. With the top 10 seperated by under 40 seconds it could have been a different top 3 had late mistakes not crept into the performances of the 2nd & 3rd place runners. Both Switzerland's Brigitte Grüniger and Sweden's Maria Bergkvist managed in the final two controls to make costly mistakes leaving the door open for Riabkina's victory by less than 2 seconds. The PWT leader Dana Brozkova could only finish in 7th which leaves the slightest glimer of hope for Riabkina to take the overall title.

In the men's race it was much more clear cut with Østerbø taking an 18 second victory over Australian Brit-to-be David Brickhill-Jones who was left ruing a 15 second loss with a few controls to go. He was however a 10 seconds clear of 3rd place Martin Johansson of Sweden, who's bronze wasn't quite so clear cut. Johansson was only a tenth of a second clear of Finland's Mats Haldin, a testament to pushing all the way to the line. Britain's runners fared well today, with Ewan McCarthy pushing his way into the top 10 to take 8th place while Dan Marston finished back in 14th. Former Clyde member Ben Rattray finished in 20th place, despite dislocating his shoulder in the first race of this Chinese series in Shanghai, and was pleased to be back running again.

Results Men
3,2km, 22 controls

1 Øystein Kvaal Østerbø NOR 12:36,9
2 David Brickhill-Jones AUS 12:54,3
3 Martin Johansson SWE 13:05,4
4 Mats Haldin FIN 13:05,5
5 Yuri Omeltchenko UKR 13:07,5
6 Tomas Dlabaja CZE 13:09,0
8 Ewan McCarthy GBR 13:23,9
14 Daniel Marston GBR 14:08,0

Results Women
3,2km, 22 controls

1 Tatiana Riabkina RUS 15:55,9
2 Brigitte Grüniger SUI 15:57,2
3 Maria Bergkvist SWE 15:59,2
4 Riina Kuuselo FIN 16:06,4
5 Ieva Sargautyte LTU 16:12,4
6 Veronica Minoiu ROM 16:17,6

Full results, maps & splits available at the PWT Website


Nopesport is supported by these advertisements